Group leader

Sander photo Dr. Sander J. Wezenberg
Sander studied chemistry at the University of Nijmegen where he carried out his Master's research in the group of Prof. Roeland Nolte. He then moved to Tarragona for his PhD studies in the field of supramolecular chemistry with Prof. Arjan Kleij at the Institute of Chemical Research of Catalonia (ICIQ). During this period he spent three months as a visiting researcher in the group of Prof. Joseph Hupp at Northwestern University. After receiving his PhD in 2011, he joined the group of Prof. Fran├žois Diederich at ETH Zurich as a postdoctoral fellow. He came to Groningen in 2013 to work with Prof. Ben Feringa at the Stratingh Institute for Chemistry where he was later appointed Assistant Professor. His main research interests are in the areas of anion binding, molecular switches, and self-assembled materials.